Is Herman Cain Ready?

I am not at all sure who to support in the upcoming GOP primary race. I don’t have a first choice figured out yet, but I know who I would rather have the least. Just know and understand that anyone the GOP puts up will be better than Obama, right now.

Much of the debate will center on policy, but some of it has to be focused on the candidate being ready for such a tough job that will be ahead. Undoing Obama’s incompetence and dismal failures will not be easy.

Here’s a guy that I am watching. This is only a marketing tool, but it’s enough to provoke some interest:

He will have his pluses and minuses, they will become better known as the campaign unfolds. One thing I like is his support for the Fair Tax. But one thing that concerns me is the fact he has never held public office. Political office is not like being in charge of a boardroom where everyone will kiss your ass to get ahead.

But moreover, I have to say that I like the guy. I think he is one the most sincere people in the field. I have listened to him on the radio for years now, most notably when he has filled in for Neal Boortz. Keep in mind that the rally this video was taped at was in Atlanta, where he is immensely popular. And…he will definitely have to overcome being a relative unknown face in a crowd of better-knowns.

What do you all think?

 

(Extra credit assignment: See if you can spot Dale Peterson, the guy who ran for Alabama Ag Commissioner. The one whose ad told people to “give a rip” about their elected officials and the course of their country.)

8 Comments

Filed under Election 2012

8 responses to “Is Herman Cain Ready?

  1. Nunly

    I’m still not sure what to think of this guy. There’s no doubt in my mind that he is sincere in his wish to get our country solvent again and to use some common sense in governing. On the other hand, like you said, he’s never run for any office before and going for the top position on his first try is not the way to do it.

    I have yet to hear much on foreign policy from him and I think that this is something that is equally important as our economy.

    I’m taking a wait and see on this guy. I like a few on the list that I might consider voting for and there are some that I definitely wouldn’t vote for. Time will tell.

  2. //I have yet to hear much on foreign policy from him and I think that this is something that is equally important as our economy.//

    He’s supports the state of Israel. But you are right , I haven’t heard much else from him on foreign policy. He would have to pick some strong names to manage the State Dept, Defense, and the Intelligence sector.

    I think he has some strengths that a good President could use in his cabinet. He definitely needs to be part of the next administration in some capacity. Maybe Treasury or Commerce.

    • Nunly

      I agree, starting out in the Cabinet would be a good place for him to get his feet wet. I don’t know anything about his personal life, if he’s married, has kids, etc. I really haven’t looked that closely at him yet, but he is doing a pretty good job of getting himself known…Fox is helping him with that. I do like the way he doesn’t mince words, gets right to the point and isn’t interested in playing the duck and cover game that most Washington politicians play. He actually answers the questions asked of him and doesn’t try to steer it to what he wants to talk about. I wish him luck, and hope he turns out to be the candidate that the GOP needs to put a fire in the Party again. I’m not thrilled with all the old recycled candidates that are on the ticket so far.

      • He’s married many years, has children and a grand child (or grandchildren). As we both know, grandchildren really soften a person up…. and for people like us, it creates a heavy burden sometimes, when we think about what they may have to face if this mess isn’t fixed at some point. That is why Cain says he is running…. for his little grandchild to have a chance like he did.

        He was CEO of Godfathers Pizza, a bigshot at Pillsbury, and was Chairman of the Fed Reserve Bank in KC ,back when the Fed actually did what they were supposed to do. Some way out there libertarians are going to hold that against him, but he wasn’t involved with the shit that has been going in the last ten years. Those people are anarchists and essentially think we need no government at all. IMHO, they are just as dangerous as the progressives.

        Anything to do with money, he will be good at doing. I have no doubt. It’s too bad Newt has been such a disappointment, he could be a great state dept guy. But after his Paul Ryan comment, he’s toast. I don’t altogether disagree with some of the points he was making when he said it. But it’s the way he presented it that makes me question his judgment and his underlying motives..

        I think before they look at Medicare and SS, they need to chop the hell out of the wasteful programs that are only designed to keep special interests funded and take lazy people off of welfare, so that the people who need it can get without jumping through a massive amount of hoops.

        If we do this first, then tally the numbers, we can see just where our liabilities are and then we can know how much we need to reform programs that help those who have paid their dues. We may find we are not as bad off as we thought in respect to Medicare and SS.

        It pisses me off when we tell people who have worked their asses off most of their lives that they may need to contribute more to what they have already been contributing to for years, because some illegal immigrant is sponging off of the system or some thug union is getting payoffs for helping to get Obama elected.

  3. Just know and understand that anyone the GOP puts up will be better than Obama, right now.

    No doubt!

    I would also point out that whom we elect to Congress in 2012 will also be or supreme importance. Congress can do much to rein in a President.

    • //Congress can do much to rein in a President.//

      Very true. But they must be willing to do so. I am a bit disappointed that this Congress hasn’t done more to do this.

      Don’t get me wrong, I am glad they aren’t a rubber stamp anymore. But I think they could to do a little better job than they have been doing.

  4. Nunly

    It pisses me off when we tell people who have worked their asses off most of their lives that they may need to contribute more to what they have already been contributing to for years, because some illegal immigrant is sponging off of the system or some thug union is getting payoffs for helping to get Obama elected.

    I feel the exact same way as you do on that issue!

    Thanks for the info on Cain. I really need to do my homework on him. It would be nice to have a President who cares about our country and not one that is using his time in office to pilfer as much money and power that he can and to hell with the rest of us. Honestly, I have never seen Obama once truly act like he gives a shit about the US. Not once.

    • //Honestly, I have never seen Obama once truly act like he gives a shit about the US. Not once.//

      There is a reason for that.

      It’s because he doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

