Japan Wins Women’s World Cup

I didn’t blog any this weekend. I spent some time with my grandson, watched some baseball on TV with him, and got to watch the Women’s World Cup Final earlier today.

Naturally I was pulling for Team USA and was mildly disappointed they lost. But in the back of my heart, I was so glad for Japan.

Since the end of WWII, there has been no greater ally in the Asian Theater than the Japanese. They have suffered greatly with this earthquake, tsunami, and subsequent radiation issues from the damaged nuclear power plant. They deserve a little distraction and boost of self-esteem for this proud people, they need it far worse than we do. Things are bad here, for sure. But they cannot compare with the loss and devastation felt by Japan and it’s honorable society.

So congratulations to our friends in the western Pacific and thank you for the superb sportsmanship, in your quest for the cup. Enjoy this moment and know that we will be looking forward to a rematch someday down the road.

(NOTE–I am also glad that the USA beat France earlier on, to keep them out of the cup final. I didn’t care who beat us afterward, at least we beat the arrogant French team.)

6 Comments

Filed under Sports

6 responses to “Japan Wins Women’s World Cup

  1. A great game, The USA used up all of its luck in the semi against France. Congratulations Japan!

  2. Japan probably needed it, what with all the carnage in the past six months. Congrats to them (even though I still don’t know how the clock works in soccer).

  3. Rocket

    (NOTE–I am also glad that the USA beat France earlier on, to keep them out of the cup final. I didn’t care who beat us afterward, at least we beat the arrogant French team.)

    Me2. The French bitched afterwards that the refereeing was unfair. But you know whenever the French lose, the refereeing is unfair.

    I would have like for the US to have won but I am happy for the Japanese. Pure determination against the odds.

Leave a Reply

