A Night At The Debates

Moderator: Rep Bachmann, why should you be the GOP nominee?

Michelle Bachmann: I am a tax attorney. I will repeal Obamacare, I am the only one up here who has led the efforts to repeal it. I am the only real conservative who can beat Obama.

Moderator: What is your strategy to keep Iran from getting nukes?

Michelle Bachmann: I am a tax attorney. I will repeal Obamacare, I am the only one up here who has led the efforts to repeal it. I am the only real conservative who can beat Obama.

Moderator: Okay, now we turn to Mitt Romney. Why should you be the GOP nominee?

Mitt Romney: America needs a president who knows how to run a business. I have worked in the private sector, I know how to get the job done.

Moderator: What is your strategy to keep Iran from getting nukes?

Mitt Romney: America needs a president who knows how to run a business. I have worked in the private sector, I know how to get the job done.

Moderator: Okay now we turn to Sen. Santorum. Why should you be the GOP nominee?

Rick Santorum: My record speaks for itself. I got elected in a blue state and led the charge for conservative values.

Moderator: What is your strategy to keep Iran from getting nukes?

Rick Santorum: My record speaks for itself. I got elected in a blue state and led the charge for conservative values.

Moderator: Okay….Gov. Perry care to take a stab at these questions?

Rick Perry: Sure.

Moderator: Why should you be the GOP nominee?

Rick Perry: I have been creating jobs in Texas, while the rest of the country is losing them. I know how to create jobs.

Moderator: What is your strategy to keep Iran from getting nukes?

Rick Perry: I have been creating jobs in Texas, while the rest of the country is losing them. I know how to create jobs.

Moderator: Alrighty then…now to Rep Paul. Why should you be the GOP nominee?

Ron Paul: I am the only one up here who thinks we should decimate every program and gut everything right now.

Moderator: What is your strategy to keep Iran from getting nukes?

Ron Paul: I don’t have a strategy. I have no problem with them getting nukes. They have as much right to them as we do.

Moderator: Mr. Speaker, why should you be the GOP nominee?

Newt Gingrich: First of all, I don’t want to get into a game of selfish self promotion. I say this because anyone on this stage tonight would make a far better president than Barack Obama. But I have spent years trying to come up with common sense solutions to problems that will work and reduce the American people’s need for government to control their lives. I can explain them all without trying to sell myself in every answer to every question you ask me this evening.

Moderator: What is your strategy to keep Iran from getting nukes?

Newt Gingrich: Call for regime change. Bomb Iranian refineries which will cripple their capacity to produce gasoline which will force them import, then set up a blockade to prevent them from importing. Or, we can assassinate nuclear scientists who are working on the project. There are all kinds of options that most people cannot even speak of, because they are not what the liberal elitists want to hear.

Synopsis:

I think I have seen enough.

It’s true that all of these fine people would make a much better president than Barack Obama. But in my view, there is one who can go toe to toe with Obama in a debate without flinching in a tight spot. He will only need to promote the ideas he brings to the discussion, he will not need to come up with catchy slogans and repeat them ad nauseum to get traction.

He is far from perfect and not everyone will agree with everything he says or does. He is a human being who has made mistakes, and admitted those mistakes. I am not voting for a pastor, or a saint. I do not care that he had an affair on one of his wives, because I do know there are many people who can thoroughly destroy this nation while remaining faithful to their spouses. His issue is with God and his wife, not me.

The problems we face today are so enormous and so complex that we may only get one chance to reverse them. If we pick the wrong person to oppose Obama, we might lose the election. If not, we need someone who can do the job from day one, and not need time to adjust to the pressures it will bring.

We cannot and should not expect any quick fixes to any of the damages that we have absorbed. We didn’t get into this mess overnight, we won’t get out of it overnight either. But we must begin the process and work in the opposite direction. To lay the entire federal government’s deficits to waste in one term is not realistic. It would create too much of a shock to the system, too much for it to absorb safely.

What we must do is begin to change our thinking and adjust our expectations back to reasonable. We must educate a new generation to fend for themselves and do it so there will be no desire for anyone to go back to the government dole for their sustenance. Self reliance is the purest form of liberty.

We need a thinker and a problem solver. Because while the next president is working on the problems that have been created and exacerbated by the current administration, there will be new ones that will certainly arise and need to be dealt with in a timely fashion. As we see from this president, slogans are not enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Administration, Election 2012

Leave a Reply

